A thing! A thing! A wearable thing!

Forgive the off-brand “blue steel” gaze – MODELLING, Y’ALL – which doesn’t do justice to the joy abounding in my budding little seamstress-heart.

Because hey – I sewed a top!


For comparison, here is the top (my first) (obviously) I made from a McCall’s pattern earlier this year:


Like Goofus and Gallant, these two.

But yes:  It fits!  It has darts!  And proper bias facings!  This little darling was whipped up over the span of two classes at my local sewing studio, and I’m incredibly pleased with it.  So pleased, in fact, that I celebrated my accomplishment with a new sewing machine, several yards of fabric and some proper sewing tools, because when I fall into a new hobby, I fall HARD.  (Also, my other sewing machine is about twenty years old and likes to eat fabric for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  An upgrade was long overdue.)


The pattern is Willow by Grainline, the fabric is Black Arbol by Cloud9’s Leah Duncan Yucca collection.  The end result is love, love, love.

 

Leave a Reply

